Blog post #9: My Takeaway

The concept that I am really taking away from this course is the idea of managing your online image or your digital footprint. Being online really isn’t an option anymore and we should all be conscious of how this image is managed. From twitter to blogging to even our search history, we are making an impact, whether we want to our not. It is important to be aware of this and to manage it. I would really like to begin instilling this sense of image responsibility in my students. Personally, as someone that doesn’t really like putting himself out there, I know this is something I’m going to have to work on. Professionally, the modern edge of teaching is being led digital pioneers who are tightening up and grooming the digital footprint of what an ideal teach should be. For this course, I have learned a number of skills, but have not always applied them in ways that are going to be practically useful (attaching everything to an email from managed by my current employer for one). Once this course is finished, it is time for me to take the things I’ve learned here and start molding my own digital footprint. Thanks, professor!

For the link requirement, I will link to the blog of a good friend of mine. He is ahead of the game in terms of managing himself professionally and I would like to use this as a reference for my future work.

 

One thought on “Blog post #9: My Takeaway

  1. There are many great blogs to follow for examples of hoe to manage your footprint. Mr. Walsh’s blog looks good. You might also want to check out Kim Cofino & Tim Bray.

    Like

Leave a Reply

